Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

Loknath Yoga

Posted Aug 13 2009 4:06pm


Mahayogi Sri Loknath Brahmachari (1780 -1890) It is a traditional way of Yoga practices to achieve the maximum benefit of this Indian ancient system. It is based on Ashtanga Yoga systematic (eight steps) according to the first written description that was found in ‘yoga sutra,’ attributed to the great Rishi (saint) Patangali.

It was practiced & developed by the Great Yogi Sri Loknath Brahmachari (1730 to 1890). He spent about 100 years in learning and practicing all the stages of Yoga Sadhana (Ashtanga Yoga) and achieved the highest level, a human body can achieve.
Later, this valuable Traditional Yogic system (Loknath Yoga) is developed under spiritual guidance of Sri Janakinnath Brahmachari, following the spiritual ideology of Sri Loknath Brahmachari at Loknath Institute of Yoga, Kolkata, which is under Sri Sri Baba Loknath Brahmachari Mahamondal Ashram, Muragatha, PO-Jugberia, 24 Pgs. North, West Bengal, India.

“Loknath Yogic System” emphasizes proper Yogic breathing (Pranayama), a gentle approach of Yoga posture (Asana), Mudras (Hsatha,Kaya, Mana, Adhara etc.), Bandhas (Lock), Kriyas (Shat Karma) with concentration techniques and Yogic diet to follow in practical life, which developed by the great Yogi Sri Janakinath Brahmachari. In this system, rest has to be taken after performing each posture through the proper way of relaxation to achieve the maximum benefit from Yoga practice. At the beginning stage it starts with the steady practice of postures holding of each at least for 20 to 30 seconds (step one), then holding the postures longer, - 1 minute and more and developing concentration and inner awareness through the practice of self-realization method (step two), and finally surrendering to God through Meditation(step three). The therapeutic approach of this system on various diseases is wonderful, which has been applying for preventing and curing many disorders with a great success. Balancing of the five basic Elements (through various Hasta Mudra) and Chakras (through Chakra Meditation) are the main keys to remove disorders through various Yogic ways.

The great rishi Patanjali states, ‘Yogah Chitta Vritti Nirodhah’. It means Yoga is a process of gaining control over the mind. It is Mastery over the mind. Therefore, if we can follow the Yogic path then there will be no stress and tension in any tough situation. Moreover, if there is no stress or tension then there will be no psychosomatic problems as such.

May be it is not so easy to control over the restless mind. However, this is the main key of “Loknath Yoga”, as Sri Loknath Brahmachari said, “give your mind to me and it will be my responsibility to solve all your problems”. Our Guruji guides us how to concentrate our mind easily through the recitation of following Mantras, which is very effective and beneficial in all situations:

“Jay Baba Mangalkari Loknath Brahmachari”
Anybody can chant this Mantra gradually to achieve the benefit by the following way of Japa (Chanting):

VAACHAK OR VAIKHARI JAPA (Verbal Chanting) = 10 times,
- UPAANSHU JAPA (Whisper Chanting) = 10 times and
- MANASIKA JAPA (Mental Chanting) =10 times initially.

After one month of continuous practice, one should increase the time to achieve more benefits.

This is what included in second limbs of Yoga, known as “Swadhyaya” in Sanskrit. It means self-study. Loknath Yoga put more emphasize on it to practice it every day for five to ten minutes, before you go to bed or after getting up early in the morning. Guruji Sri Janakinath Brhmachari says, “Self realization or Self Study or “Atma-Darshan” is one of the vital stage of Ashtanga Yoga and should be included in the schedule of our daily life because this bridges the relationship between the small I and the big I”. “Self Realization is the only duty of all human being to perform every day”, he added.

Loknath Yoga gives more importance on “Nididhyasana” on the way of Yoga-Sadhana. This is a state of profound and deep meditation and third step in Vedantic Sadhana, after Sravana (hearing) and Manana (reflection). There are the four steps for SADHANA as described in his book “Vedanta Sara” or Essence of Vedanta of Sadananda in paragraph 181. These are Sravana, Manana, Nididhyasana, and Samadhi.

Nididhyasana includes three methods of learning, along with the firsttwosteps of Vedantic Sadhana:

Sravana that is to listen,
- Manana that is to think over again and
- Nididhyasana that is to assimilate.

This is true that what we have listened to cannot be well acquired and assimilated only by just listening. We have to listen carefully and think it over and this is known as Manana. Then, we have to absorb what you have listened to and this is Nididhyasana. If we can do all three - listen, think over and absorb, then only we can enjoy the fruits of what you have listened. Baba Loknath also followed this theory from the beginning of his Yoga-Sadhana. This is all about how to chant (Japa) Guru Mantra (the Mantra that one receive from the Guru during initiation) Everyday. However, not only chanting, one should feel the effect of Mantra in the body and mind day to day. One must try to measure this effect as one does in geometry, and understood it properly, then should direct the heart or mind (chitta) towards this. This is known as “Nididhyasana”. One can meet or realize the seat of soul or Brahman within oneself through this way.
This is Ajapa japa actually. Ajapa Japa is very powerful and it can take a Yogi from elementary stage to the most advanced stage of Yoga-Sadhana. And this Sadhana of Ajapa Japa is as old as the Upanishads. The constant repetition of Mantra that utters from the mouth only is called Japa. This Japa becomes Ajapa (spontaneous) Japa when the repetition occurs automatically without effort and it should be uttered from the heart (Nididgyasana). It is also said that this Sadhana should not be disclosed in the book. That means one must learn this Sadhana from a Guru directly.

Yogacharya Tonmoy Shome
Washington DC

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches