The gluten free weight loss diet originated as an diet for those suffering from Celiac disease but it caught on for people all over the world. A lot of people are making the decision to convert to a gluten free diet.
You should remember that a lack of understanding when it comes to diets can be dangerous. Before jumping on the bandwagon of the gluten free weight loss diet, make sure that you are properly informed on what it can do for you.
What is Celiac Disease?
Gluten is a protein found in barley, oats, grains and triticale. People suffering from Celiac Disease have a small intestine that is particularly sensitive to gluten. There are no known causes for the disease but it is believed that there are environmental and genetic factors involved.
There is still no cure but it can be managed effectively with a gluten free diet. If it is left untreated it can lead to a variety of different health conditions like infertility, malnutrition and even osteoporosis.
What the diet can do?
The gluten free weight loss diet can help the small intestine recover as well as aid the absorption of important nutrients into your system.
With a gluten free diet you learn to avoid all foods that contain rye, wheat, grains and barley. Example of foods we love that contain often high levels of gluten are pizza, bagels, crackers, pasta, breads etc.
Oats are also avoided and you have the option whether to avoid or limit your intake of milk. Beer products, non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages are also avoided.
What you can eat?
With a gluten free weight loss diet, you can still eat any of the following food products since they generally do not have gluten:
1. Fresh, dried, canned, or frozen fruits and vegetables as long as they do not have thickening ingredients and additives that have gluten.
2. Starches and flours made from rice, soybeans, tapioca, corn, and buckwheat.
3. Dairy products like cheese. However, avoid these products at the beginning of your treatment for celiac disease.
5. Alcoholic beverages like wine and liquor like brandy, whiskey, ciders, and liquers.
6. Unprocessed meat products
7. Frozen or canned meat products, provided that they do not have any sauce.
8. Cereal products made from corn, lentil flour, rice bran, amaranth, lentil flour, psyllium, and polenta.
9. Rice crackers, rice crispies, corn tortillas, taco shells made from corn.
10. Gluten-free pasta, bean or rice vermicelli, buckwheat noodles, and rice noodles.
11. Condiments like tomato paste, jam, honey, cocoa, vinegar, honey, tahini, and some salad dressings and sauces.
12. Snacks like plain corn chips, plain chocolate, and popcorn.
13. Drinks like coffee, tea, mineral water, and spirits.
A few precautions
Be careful when buying foods that are labelled as -wheat-free- because it does not necessarily mean that they are gluten-free. When buying food, read the ingredients on the labels and be aware of the kinds of hidden gluten like those that can be found in different food additives and medications. Also, be aware that there are products that have -modified food starch- written on their labels because they may contain gluten.
Stuff to remember
The gluten free diet may seem a little overwhelming at first. However, with enough knowledge, information and support, you can incorporate the diet into your lifestyle without any problems. Having Celiac Disease does not mean you have to stop eating majority of your favorite foods because despite several restrictions, you can still enjoy a variety of foods included in the diet. Furthermore, if you need more information on celiac disease and gluten free diets, you can consult a gastroenterologist, your doctor, or a credited/licensed dietician or nutritionist.
Wanna Get Thin Fast? Click The Hoodithin Link Below