Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Go
Search posts:

The ABCs of Kara

Posted Jun 01 2011 1:09pm

In an effort to get my readers (hello out there!) re-acquainted with yours truly, I decided to finally do the ABCs that were floating around the blogosphere a few months back :) Enjoy!

A. Age: 27.

B. Bed size: Queen.

C. Chore you hate: Laundry. Hate hate HATE!

D. Dogs:

IMG_1957.JPG

I love my Barkley to pieces! I really hope to get him a dog buddy sometime in the next few years.

E. Essential start to your day: BB (before baby): hitting the snooze button. AB (after baby): nursing, followed immediately by COFFEE.

F. Favorite color: Orange and blue, and not just because I’m a Mets fan :)

G. Gold or silver: I prefer silver, but the only jewelry I wear everyday (my engagement ring and wedding band) are both white gold.

H. Height: 5’5″

I. Instruments you play: I’m a singer (I took private voice lessons for 6 years), but I also dabbled in a few instruments: trumpet for 3 years in elementary school, took piano lessons for a year and am still attempting to learn how to play the guitar. My teensy hands make piano and guitar really difficult; I can barely reach an octave on the piano and forget about guitar bar chords :( One of these days I might invest in a 3/4-size lefty guitar, if I can find one…

J. Job title: Research Project Coordinator

K. Kids: One (for now!) — my love, Liam

IMG_2632.JPG

L. Live: I’ve only lived on islands: first Long Island, then Manhattan (with a brief pit stop in the Bronx), and now Roosevelt Island, the little island in the East River between Manhattan and Queens:

NYC-RooseveltIsland

( source )

M. Mom’s name: Anne.

N. Nicknames: K, Karaface, Karbear.

O. Overnight hospital stays: Two: 5 nights for my c-section last month, and one night for appendicitis when I was in high school. It happened to be Oscar night, so I got to see Titanic win every single award without my parents sending me to bed early ;) Too bad I hated that stupid movie…

P. Pet peeve: Bandwagon sports fans, inconsiderate smokers (really? the only place you can smoke is directly in front of the door to my apartment building?), showoffs/name droppers, people who won’t control their pets/kids in public (I mean the type that totally ignore their kid when they are melting down or people who disregard leash laws/don’t clean up poop), and loud cellphone talkers, especially on public transportation.

Q. Quote from a movie: “Samsonite? I was way off!”

R. Right or left handed: Southpaw!

S. Siblings: I’m an only child, but I have a half-brother who lives in Ireland. Yeah, I know it doesn’t make any sense.

T. Time you wake up: It used to be 8am, now it’s closer to 6 or 7 (or even earlier – ugh). If L goes back to sleep after nursing, I try to get a few more hours of sleep in, but that doesn’t always happen.

U. Underwear: Gap and Victoria’s Secret.

V. Vegetables you dislike: I’m not crazy about cooked carrots — it’s a texture thing — and seriously dislike avocados and beets.

W. What makes you run late: Um, me? :) I leave everything until the last minute and frequently run around like the Tasmanian Devil 5 minutes before I’m supposed to be somewhere. But I’m always on time or slightly fashionably late, never late-late.

X. X-Rays you’ve had: A few on my foot when I had tendinitis in 2008, to make sure I didn’t break any bones.

Y. Yummy food you make: I can’t stop baking — and eating — lactation cookies these days (just oatmeal chocolate chip cookies with brewer’s yeast and flaxseed meal thrown in), but I also roast a mean chicken.

Z. Zoo- favorite animal: Penguin!

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches