Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:

Is there a non dairy butter/margarine without soy?


Posted by gilmer

Cannot eat any dairy products, tomatoe, or soy products.  Has severe alergies.  The list goes on and on.  I am looking for something other than salads or vegetables.  I am looking for something to make cream sauces that do not have these ingredients. Any ideas are welcome! My daughter is suffering, she can't eat anything but vegetables, she is trying to follow a diet of things she cannot eat but it is very difficult if you cannot use these products.
 
Answers (2)
Sort by: Newest first | Oldest first

Make a cream sauce with oat milk, almond milk, barley milk, coconut milk, hemp milk and a little cornflour (and vegetable stock powder) or potato flour or rice flour.

But do not just accept the allergies - the root underlying cause needs to be dealt with or she could end up having a reaction to everything.

Go see a competant, qualified, experienced nutrition therapist who'll run a test (such as by Genova Diagnostics  Laboratory) find out what's going on and repair the gut - She may still end up unable to tolerate dairy and wheat but you should be able to wean her back onto other foods.

Many vegans resort to cashews to create cream sauces and cheeses. Soaking cashews overnight and processing them in a food processor with miso, lemon juice, Braggs liquid aminos, and pepper creates a cheese to the consistency of your liking depending on what it is you are making. 

Nutritional yeast is a flakey parmesan cheese-like substitute that you can put on top of salads, vegetables, pastas, anywhere you'd sprinkle cheese on. 

 Another option is zucchini "cheese" sauce from www.choosingraw.com

1 heaping cup sliced zucchini

1/2 red bell pepper

1 1/2 tbsp ground chia seed

1/2 c nutritional yeast

2 1/2 tbsp liquid aminos

2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp dijon mustart

1/2 tsp tumeric

Blend all ingredient in a blender until smooth and enjoy on vegetables, pastas, anything you'd like. 

One last thing, they have now come out with cheese alternatives made from rice milk called Rice Vegan that is soy free, dairy free, and glutten free. Either in a block or by the slice, you can find Rice Vegan at your local health food stores. 

NOTICE: The information provided on this site is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your physician or other qualified health provider because of something you have read on Wellsphere. If you have a medical emergency, call your doctor or 911 immediately.
Post an answer
Write a comment: