Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:

if i am lacto ovo vegetarian can i take whey products? thanks


Posted by peridot_tula

 
Answers (3)
Sort by: Newest first | Oldest first
If you are a lacto-ovo vegetarian, then you accept dairy products in your diet.  Whey is a dairy product, so it would be something you could take.

how about pepsi, coke and fanta? thanks

Sodas are basically sugar and water.  The only issue from a vegetarian standpoint is that white sugar is sometimes processed with bone char, which many consider to make it no longer a vegetarian product even though the end product does not contain animal parts.  However, most sodas these days are made with high fructose corn syrup, not sucrose, so this would probably be a non-issue.  The real concern is that soda is wildly unhealthy!

As far as whey is concerned, if you're consuming dairy products than it would be acceptable in your diet.  But if you're thinking you need to use whey powder proetin supplements or the like, you probably don't - as long as you are eating a varied diet, especially if it contains, milk, eggs, and cheese, you are likely getting more than enough proten.

NOTICE: The information provided on this site is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your physician or other qualified health provider because of something you have read on Wellsphere. If you have a medical emergency, call your doctor or 911 immediately.
Post an answer
Write a comment: