Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

Records fall at Ironman New Zealand as race veterans Brown and Lawn win

Posted Mar 06 2010 7:04am

NZIM 09 Run 12 km_thumb

He's just one victory and one year short of a decade of complete IMNZ dominance.

Cameron Brown, 37, won the 2010 Bonita Ironman New Zealand on the run in a time of 8:21:5.

But what's really astounding is that he's now won IMNZ a record nine times. No other athlete in Ironman racing history has ever done at any Ironman race before.

On the bike, at least, it looked like the race belonged to event second place finisher Terenzo Bozzone who built up a significant lead over Brown.

Click HERE to see what Bozzone tweeted (maybe) as he raced IMNZ.

Click HERE for complete age-group results.

"I was getting pretty scared -- I thought the title was over, really. There was a lot of worry going through my head," Brown said after the race. "But as soon as that second lap, and the splits started coming down, it was reassuring. Terenzo was riding like a man possessed in those early stages," he added.


On the women's side of the race it was Joanna Lawn (pictured here winning last year's IMNZ) who once again dominated the race for a 7th time to easily capture the win in a record time of 9:14:35 over fellow Kiwi Gina Crawford.

"Today was hard, the bike was pretty rough. It was really windy, and there weren't many people. No-one, really - it was pretty much a solo ride," Lawn said. "I never thought I'd get close to the record, because last time I was pushed. But you just have to dig deep and you can break records," she added.

Click HERE to a recap of the race on New Zealand's TVNZ.

Top Ten Men at 2010 IMNZ

*Cameron BROWN  8:2:52,
* Terenzo BOZZONE (#2) at 8:30:00
* Kieran DOE (#3) at 8:34:16
* Keegan WILLIAMS (#18) at 8:40:11
* James BOWSTEAD (#4) at 9:02:46
* Andrew HOWSE (#535) at 9:06:40
* Hayden ARMSTRONG (#257) at 9:06:56
* Chris WATERHOUSE (#17) at 9:10:41
* Anthony RULE (#183) at 9:12:23
* Christoph SONNACK (#382) at 9:13:40

Top Ten Women at 2010 IMNZ

*Joanna LAWN (#7)  9:14:35.
* Gina CRAWFORD (#6) at 9:28:26
* Kim LOEFFLER (#9) at 9:30:57
* Sarah POLLETT (#23) at 9:45:44
* Britta MARTIN (#22) at 9:47:11
* Belinda HARPER (#657) at 9:48:55
* Nicole WARD (#26) at 9:51:05
* Sue MELLSOP (#1077) at 10:03:20
* Susan CASEY (#638) at 10:06:12
* Kate BEVILAQUA (#8) at 10:18:12

Follow on twitter @ everymantri or view latest videos on YouTube .

Post a comment
Write a comment: