Colorado Governor signs controversial bike safety legislation into law
Posted May 12 2009 3:14pm
In Colorado starting on August 5th, drivers will have to give cyclist at least three feet of room when passing or face a possible $110 ticket.
The new legislation was signed into law by Colorado Governor Bill Ritter who said in a written statement, "One of the great things about Colorado is that so many people love to
bike," But it also means that
cyclists and motorists alike must take extra precautions so that we can
share the road safely. This new law will enhance safety for everyone."
"Anyone who throws an object at a cyclist also could be charged with a
misdemeanor carrying a fine of $250 to $1,000 and up to 12 months in
Though some have raised concern that the law could lead to increased
conflict between riders and drivers, Boulder Cycling Club President
Donald Cicchillo said the majority of cyclists are "very conscious of
safety" and won' t take advantage of the law.
"Cyclists deserve to have rights just like everybody else," he said.
"This gives more protection to cyclists. You have to give us room when
you pass. You can' t abuse a cyclist and get away with it."