Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

2009 XTERRA World champions win inaugural Abu Dhabi International Triathlon

Posted Mar 13 2010 6:47am


The off-road Xterra champs (Eneko Llanos and Julie Dibens) had what it took to win the inaugural Abu Dhabi International Triathlon. At the end of a long and hot race race Eneko Llanos and Julie Dibens stood on the top podium in Abu Dhabi.

Both are the current XTERRA World Champions and now of course they are also now the newly minted Abu Dhabi International Champs.

Dibens overcame a flat tire to win the race in a time of 7:08:25.

Click HERE to watch Dibens defeat Chrissie Wellington in Boulder, Colorado last year.

I am very, very happy and exhausted! The course was great but the distance was too long for me really, which combined with the heat, made things a little bit difficult. The organization of the race was great and I am definitely looking forward to coming back next year,” Dibens said after winning the race.

In the men's side Spaniard Eneko Llanos took charge of the race on the run and never looked back to win in a time of 6:34:37.

This is my first time here and everything along the course was stunning from the Emirates Palace to the Yas Marina Circuit. The distance was a big challenge and I can’t believe I am here today in first place. I will be coming back next year for sure,” Llanos said.

Abu Dhabi International Triathlon consist of a 3km swim, 200km bike, and a 20km run.

2010 Abu Dhabi International Triathlon top 5 results

The Men's Results
1. Eneko Llanos (ESP)
2. Dirk Bockel (LUX) 6:35:30
3. Rasmus Henning (DEN) 6:36:07
4. Fraser Cartmell (GBR) 6:36:12
5. Frederik Van Lierde (BEL) 6:36:31

The Women's Results
1. Julie Dibens (GBR) 7:08:25
2. Leanda Cave (GBR) 7:12:23
3. Virginia Berasategui (ESP) 7:18:23
4. Caroline Steffen (SUI) 7:21:01
5. Carrie Lester (AUS) 7:23:04

Follow on twitter @ everymantri or view latest videos on YouTube .

Post a comment
Write a comment: