Health knowledge made personal

Physical & Mental Disabilities Community

Overview Blog Posts Discussions People
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

Social Security Adds More Conditions to "Compassionate Allowance" Program

Posted May 14 2010 8:48am

This past February, Social Security issued a press release announcing that it was adding thirty-eight (38) medical conditions to its "compassionate allowance" program .  SSA describes its compassionate allowance program as follows:

Compassionate Allowances are a way of quickly identifying diseases and other medical conditions that clearly qualify for Social Security and Supplemental Security Income disability benefits.  It allows the agency to electronically target and make speedy decisions for the most obviously disabled individuals.

There are now 88 medical conditions that qualify for compassionate allowance.  About half of these conditions are forms of cancer, while the other have are made up of rare diseases, many of which affect children.  Among the more common conditions that now qualify for an early approval:

  • early onset Alzheimer's Disease
  • mixed dementia
  • idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis
  • mucosal melanoma

A full list of all of the compassionate allowance conditions may be found by clicking on the link which will take you to Social Security's internal Program Operations Manual System (POMS).

If you or a loved one are afflicted by any of the conditions described under the compassionate allowance program, it is very important that you make that fact known to the adjudicator who is assigned to your claim.  You should not assume that the state agency adjudicator is familiar with the compassionate allowance list.

Post from: Social Security Disability Blog

Social Security Adds More Conditions to "Compassionate Allowance" Program

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches