Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

Book Review: The Five Love Languages

Posted Aug 11 2008 9:15pm
It took me some time to finally read The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate since it was written for those who are married. I highly recommend this book to every married couple and those who are engaged. In fact, I can pretty much guarantee that if I had read this book while still married, I would not be a single mom today.

Seldom do a husband and wife have the same primary emotional love language.

Looking back, I can see now that my ex-husband and I definitely were speaking different love languages and we never learned to speak each other's language. His love language is Acts of Service whereas mine is Quality Time. The others, outlined in this book by Gary Chapman, are Physical Touch, Receiving Gifts and Words of Affirmation.

Once you identify and learn to speak your spouse’s primary love language,
I believe that you will have discovered the key to a long-lasting, loving marriage.

If you're worried about your relationship or know a couple who are preparing for a lifetime together, The Five Love Languages is a must-read.

Also by Gary Chapman:
The Five Love Languages for Singles
The Five Love Languages of Children
The Five Love Languages of Teenagers
The Five Languages of Apology: How to Experience Healing in All Your Relationships

UPDATE: If you have read this book, please let me know in the comments how long you and your partner have been together. If you're not in a committed relationship at the moment, please let me know how (or if) this book changed your perspective.
Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches