”If you like to talk to tomatoes If a squash can make you smile If you like to waltz with potatoes Up and down the produce aisle… Have we got a show for you! VeggieTales, VeggieTales, VeggieTales, VeggieTales, VeggieTales, VeggieTales, VeggieTales, VeggieTales!
Broccoli! Celery! Gotta be VeggieTales! Lima beans! Collard greens! Peachy keen! VeggieTales! Cauliflower! Sweet and sour! Half and hour! VeggieTales! There’s never-ever-ever-ever-ever been a show like VeggieTales! There’s never-ever-ever-ever-ever been a show like VeggieTales! It’s time for VeggieTales! ”
I forgot to mention today was ”World Vegetarian Day” and kick off of ”National Vegetarian Awareness Month” which is awesome, because my good friend Carlos decided he would go vegetarian starting October 1. I have decided to join him in his quest to eat more veggies! I think I eat enough but more veggies won’t hurt me. I will miss my chicken & fish, so I’m not sure how long I will last. I was a vegetarian for 2 years but that was a long time ago. I went veg to eat more vegetables during high school out of curiosity, sports and learning of animal cruelty.
There are so many different types of vegetarians: here are a few
The word “pescatarian” is occasionally used to describe those who abstain from eating all meat and animal flesh with the exception of fish. Although the word is not commonly used, more and more people are adopting this kind of diet, usually for health reasons or as a stepping stone to a fully vegetarian diet.
When most people think of vegetarians, they think of lacto-ovo-vegetarians. People who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products are lacto-ovo vegetarians (“lacto” comes from the Latin for milk, and “ovo” for egg). Lacto-vegetarian is used to describe a vegetarian who does not eat eggs, but does eat dairy products.
Ovo-vegetarian refers to people who do not eat meat or dairy products but do eat eggs.
Vegans do not eat meat of any kind and also do not eat eggs, dairy products, or processed foods containing these or other animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin. Many vegans also refrain from eating foods that are made using animal products that may not contain animal products in the finished process, such as sugar and some wines. There is some debate as to whether certain foods, such as honey, fit into a vegan diet.
A raw vegan diet consists of unprocessed vegan foods that have not been heated above 115 degrees Fahrenheit (46 degrees Celsius). “Raw foodists” believe that foods cooked above this temperature have lost a significant amount of their nutritional value and are harmful to the body.
The macrobiotic diet, revered by some for its healthy and healing qualities, includes unprocessed vegan foods, such as whole grains, fruits and vegetables, and allows the occasional consumption of fish. Sugar and refined oils are avoided. Perhaps the most unique qualifier of the macrobiotic diet is its emphasis on the consumption of Asian vegetables, such as daikon, and sea vegetables, such as seaweed.
Have any crazy ones we could add to the list?
I think I have figured out that I’m a Ovo/Lacto Veg Head but I use to be a Ovo/Lacto Pollotarian. Wow that’s a mouthful!
I don’t care for or like labels but just out of curiosity, what would you label yourself?
Funny Thing: Carlos and I work together now, but we first met at our old job @ a Christian book store. We would go to the kids section to sing the VeggieTale songs by heart! We played the videos for the employees not the children who came in. lol