When reading food and other product labels, it is important to note that the label “gluten-free” can mean a variety of things. Gluten-free does not ALWAYS mean the complete absence of wheat, barley, rye and oats (WBRO) in the product.
The information on the charts provided by the Celiac Sprue Association is particularly helpful in showing the comparisons of requirements for CODEX Alimenatarius, FDA and the CSA Recognition Seal (the specialists in Celiac issues):
In 2006, the American Dietetic Association updated its recommendations for a gluten-free diet. The following chart is based on the 2006 recommendations. This list is not complete, so people with celiac disease should discuss gluten-free food choices with a nutritionist or physician who specializes in celiac disease. People with celiac disease should always read food ingredient lists carefully to make sure the food does not contain gluten.