Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Go
Search posts:

2012 Year in Review, Part 2

Posted Jan 03 2013 6:54pm

If you missed part 1, check that out first!

June 2012

I found my future wedding shoes !

IMG_2319

Matt and I started and then graduated from the Foundations CrossFit course at CrossFit Dupont. This meant we were ready to join the real classes!

IMG_2370

I spent a few   wonderful   days in the Outer Banks on a beach vacation with Matt and his family!

IMG_2438

July 2012

Matt and I spent a weekend at our friends Tim and Lindsey’s lake house in VA! I tried wake boarding for the first time. :)

IMG_2619

Matt and I and our friends Tom and Janice did a White Water Kayaking + Winetasting adventure. (It was a LivingSocial deal)

125_0298

My high school BFF Jenny turned 30 – we celebrated with a wine tour . :) (Although we later found out that she had JUST found out a couple days before this she was pregnant and had to have her husband drink all her wine! Fail!)

IMG_6099

Matt turned 30 years old! I threw him a party with the help of some friends. And yes, his shirt says “30 and Dirty.”

IMG_0071

August 2012

My bridesmaids and my mom hosted a beautiful bridal shower for me.

bridesmaids

I had my hair and makeup trial for the wedding! So fun.

wedding_hair_trial_2

I completed my 12 week hospital dietetic internship.  

2012-07-16_16-07-30_45

I spent a couple days relaxing in Bethany Beach, DE with my friend Hilary.

IMG_0141

I traveled to Boston for the Healthy Living Summit and spoke on a panel about how to work with brands as a blogger (click for a recap of our session!).

IMG_0175

I started my first of three mini-fall internships – this one with a private practice RD for a month.

lets_talk_live

I spent a weekend at the beach in Cape May, NJ with my college BFFs Turner and Kris.

IMG_0212

September 2012

Matt and I went night kayaking on DC’s Potomac River. Another LivingSocial deal. :)

100_0317

I returned to Chapel Hill to visit with friends and hit my old favorite haunts!

IMG_0274

Matt ran the Tough Mudder with his buddies and shared an awesome recap. Totally want to do this race this year…

100_0382

I started my second of three mini-dietetic internships – this one at Wellness Corporate Solutions.

workspace

I turned 30 years old and celebrated my entrance into a new and slightly less competitive age bracket for running races. ;)

breakfast_in_bed

And then I ran the Clarendon Day 10k and set a new PR (that still stands): 49:43!

IMG_0367

And then later on the same day of the race, I had both a bachelorette wine tour and a 30th birthday after party – ummm, yeah. Awesome, but you can imagine how I felt the next morning. ;)

IMG_6503

Matt and I did a practice session with our wedding photographers!

OJ1A4443

October 2012

I had my last day of work at my second mini dietetic internship.

WCS ladies

Last minute wedding prep!

IMG_6721

October 13, 2012 – Matt and I got married ! :)

annepreview006

Here are the wedding-related recap posts (I know I owe you one final one about our reception):

Matt and I went on a mini-honeymoon (mini-moon!) to Fort Lewis Lodge in the mountains of VA. It was wonderful: recap 1 , recap 2 , recap 3 .

IMG_0519

One week after the wedding, I ran the Army 10 Miler for the second time.

IMG_0624

Then it was back to work – I started my third and final mini-dietetic fall internship, this one with another private practice RD.

IMG_6817

I met Bart Yasso!

2012-10-27_08-41-35_438

IMG_0665

November 2012

I finished my last dietetic internship and submitted my first draft of my masters paper to my UNC advisor .

private_practice

Matt and I ran in the inaugural LivingSocial Glow in the Dark 5k Dance Party.

IMG_0764

I shared 4 healthy, quick, and portable breakfast ideas. (More of this to come for lunch and dinner!)

IMG_5120

I traveled to Boston for a Reebok Eventand was honored to meet (and interview) Julie Foucher ! (click on the link to hear how she balances med school and CrossFit !)

IMG_0849

I traveled to CT for a fun blogger girl’s weekend at Mohegan Sun.

reebok event 110

I ran an old favorite – the Alexandria 5 Mile Turkey Trot – and set a new PR (that still stands): 38:34!

IMG_0082

Thanksgiving 2012 in pictures.

IMG_6966

I traveled to UNC to present my masters paper and then, after 3.5 years of nonstop work – I received my Masters of Public Health in Nutrition from UNC-Chapel Hill . :) Anne, MPH!!

IMG_0129

December 2012

My classmates and I said a final farewell to UNC Chapel Hill. Very bittersweet!

IMG_0181

I was included in a list of “foodies and drinkies” to follow on Twitter in the December issue of Runner’s World Magazine. So honored (I’m on the bottom right)!

runnersworld4

Matt and I went on a two week belated honeymoon to Costa Rica! (Many more recap posts to come!)

IMG_0006-001

IMG_7044

And there you have it! 2012 in review. As you can tell, it was a crazy busy and full year with all sorts of major life events – moving, getting married, finishing my masters degree and dietetic internships – and in between the major life events were all sorts of trips and daily adventures, too. Of course, it wasn’t all good – no year ever is – but in stressful times I focused on staying active and spending time with those who really matter in my life. As far as I’m concerned, you should never underestimate the power of a good workout or a long talk with a best friend.

Here’s to 2013 – cheers. :)

What was the best or biggest thing that happened to you in 2012?

The post 2012 Year in Review, Part 2 appeared first on fANNEtastic food .

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches