I recently went vegan.
The other day I was reading chocolate bars’ ingredient labels and didn’t know if cocoa butter was an animal by-product or not.
Can you help?
– Laura Brenty Chicago, IL
Cocoa butter is 100 percent vegan — it is a purely vegetable-based fat naturally found in cocoa beans.
Vegan chocolate is very easy to come by — a lot of the big drugstores, like Walgreen’s, carry it!
To make sure it is completely dairy-free, be on the lookout for milk solids and/or whey-based ingredients.
By the way, one of my favorite brands of vegan chocolate — actually, one of my favorite brands of ALL chocolate — is Endangered Species (pictured alongside this post.)
1 CommentEndangered Species chocolate, You Ask/I Answer, chocolate, cocoa beans, cocoa butter, vegan