Great question. Sorry to say, but the answer is "no" for a vast majority of the population. Why? Well, malt contains gluten. Malt has gluten because malt is made from barley and barley contains gluten.
Gluten is a protein that a great many people are sensitive to. Typically associated with "wheat", gluten is actually in a variety of grains such as barley, rye, spelt and oats (via contamination). When people are sensitive to gluten this can result in a delayed response such as joint pain, headaches, moodiness, weightgain, brain fog, etc. To make it even more tricky, these symptoms can show up, up to 72 hours after ingestion of the gluten. So, it gets very confusing and people have a difficult time drawing the straight line to the gluten they are ingesting as the source of their symptoms.
Additionally, it is devastating for those with Celiac Disease. Celiac is an autoimmune condition that attacks the lining of the small intestine when a person with Celiac consumes gluten.
Gluten has became a health degrading food source in our culture and it is hidden in so many things.
If you any questions, or would like some alternative options to talk about in your project, feel free to contact me.
NOTICE: The information provided on this site is not a substitute for professional medical advice,
diagnosis, or treatment. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your
physician or other qualified health provider because of something you have read on Wellsphere.
If you have a medical emergency, call your doctor or 911 immediately.