Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Go
Search posts:

List of open access (OA) resources - "Start-here"

Posted Feb 11 2009 3:27pm

Open Access (OA) in Canada

• Open access in Canada http://hlwiki.slais.ubc.ca/index.php/Open_access_in_Canada

• A very brief introduction http://openaccessday.org/wp-content/uploads/oa-description2.pdf

• Open Access overview (Peter Suber) http://www.earlham.edu/~peters/fos/overview.htm

Accessing OA journals

• Alliance for Taxpayer Access http://www.taxpayeraccess.org/

• Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLii) http://www.canlii.org

• Connexions http://cnx.org/

• Directory of Open Access Journals http://www.doaj.org

• Public Knowledge Project http://pkp.sfu.ca/

Key Players in OA

• Creative Commons http://creativecommons.org/

• Public Library of Science (PLoS) http://www.plos.org

• John Willinsky @ Public Knowledge Project http://pkp.sfu.ca/

• Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resource Coalition (SPARC) http://www.arl.org/sparc

Advocates in OA

• Bibliography of OA Statements http://oad.simmons.edu/oadwiki/Open_Access_Statements

• Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) http://www.cihr-irsc.gc.ca/e/34846.html

• Canadian Library Association (CLA) http://www.cla.ca/

• Imaginary Journal of Poetic Economics (Heather Morrison) http://poeticeconomics.blogspot.com/

• National Institutes of Health (NIH) http://publicaccess.nih.gov/policy.htm

• Open Access Librarian http://oalibrarian.blogspot.com/

• Organization for Economic and Cooperative Development (OECD) http://www.oecd.org/document/0,2340,en_2649_34487_25998799_1_1_1_1,00.ht...

• Voices of Open Access Video Series http://www.vimeo.com/1921500

Opposition to OA

• Lack of Standards http://www.forrex.org/publications/link/ISS46/vol9_no2_art21.pdf

• Quality Control http://www.forrex.org/publications/link/ISS46/vol9_no2_art21.pdf

• Lack of indexing http://www.forrex.org/publications/link/ISS46/vol9_no2_art21.pdf

OA & Librarians

• ALA Issues & Advocacy – Access http://www.ala.org/ala/issuesadvocacy/access/index.cfm

• What Librarians Can Do to Promote Open Access http://openaccessday.org/wp-content/uploads/what-librarians.pdf

• Open Students http://www.openstudents.org/

• SPARC Student Page http://www.arl.org/sparc/students

History & Future of OA

• Timeline of the Open Access Movement http://www.earlham.edu/~peters/fos/timeline.htm

• Growth of Open Access http://poeticeconomics.blogspot.com/2008/09/dramatic-growth-of-open-acce...

• Digitize this Book! The Politics of New Media, or Why we Need Open Access Now

News & Opinions

• Canada missing out on open access momentum http://www.thestar.com/sciencetech/article/503401

• The Joys and Challenges of Being an Open-Access Medical Journal - Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewArticle/50/28


Post a comment
Write a comment: