Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

Final Rules on Meaningful Use & Certification

Posted Jul 13 2010 6:25am
The Health Information Technology Meaningful Use and Certification rules were announced today.

The following summarizes the objectives from  The "Meaningful Use" Regulation for Electronic Health Records  (David Blumenthal, NEJM)
Keith Boone provides a  Meaningful Use Standards Summary  at Healthcare Standards .  John Halamka published an Analysis of the Final Standards Rule  at Life as a Healthcare CIO .

The meaningful use final rule is now temporarily available at .

The meaningful use rule implements the provisions of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 that provide incentive payments to eligible professionals (EPs), eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals (CAHs) participating in Medicare and Medicaid programs that adopt and successfully demonstrate meaningful use of certified electronic health record (EHR) technology. This final rule specifies—the initial criteria EPs, eligible hospitals, and CAHs must meet in order to qualify for an incentive payment; calculation of the incentive payment amounts; payment adjustments under Medicare for covered professional services and inpatient hospital services provided by EPs, eligible hospitals and CAHs failing to demonstrate meaningful use of certified EHR technology; and other program participation requirements. Also, the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) will be issuing a closely related final rule that specifies the Secretary’s adoption of an initial set of standards, implementation, specifications, and certification criteria for electronic health records. ONC has also issued a separate final rule on the establishment of certification programs for health information technology.
Final meaningful use rule from HHS

The Standards, Implementation Specifications, and Certification Criteria for Electronic Health Record Technology final rule is now temporarily available at .  

The certification rule completes the adoption of an initial set of standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria, and to more closely align such standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria with final meaningful use Stage 1 objectives and measures. Adopted certification criteria establish the required capabilities and specify the related standards and implementation specifications that certified electronic health record (EHR) technology will need to include to, at a minimum, support the achievement of meaningful use Stage 1 by eligible professionals, eligible hospitals, and/or critical access hospitals under the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs. Complete EHRs and EHR Modules will be tested and certified according to adopted certification criteria to ensure that they have properly implemented adopted standards and implementation specifications and otherwise comply with the adopted certification criteria.
Post a comment
Write a comment: