Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

BP Spain Madrid Reviews: First Winners of The Queen Elizabeth Prize

Posted Mar 22 2013 2:55am

BP Congratulates the First Winners of The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

BP today has congratulated a group of internet and World Wide Web pioneers on becoming the first winners of the prestigious Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.

Five engineers Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf, Louis Pouzin, Tim Berners-Lee and Marc Andreessen who created the Internet and the World Wide Web have together won the inaugural £1 million prize for their innovations, which have revolutionised the way we communicate and enabled the development of whole new industries.

Bob Dudley, BP Group Chief Executive said: ‘At BP we rely on talented engineers, scientists and technologists to help provide the vital energy needed to heat, light and power the economic development of the world. The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering celebrates the application of innovation and engineering excellence to some of the great challenges facing the world today.”

“The inaugural winners of this great prize demonstrate plainly how engineering touches all of our lives, every day, in ways we may not always identify as engineering. Together, their work has transformed our world, radically changing how we manage information, communicate, and connect. I believe their achievements are an inspiration, particularly to young people who may seek an exciting and rewarding career in engineering,” he added.

BP is a founder donor to the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering, contributing £2m over five years.

Read full story here:

BP Spain Madrid Reviews: First Winners of The Queen Elizabeth Prize

You may want to read this:

Smartphone protection and mobile management before

BP Confirms Award of Uruguay Exploration Blocks

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches