Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Go
Search posts:

Tools and Techniques for Assessing Energy Yield Potential for Small Wind Turbines: An ASES Small Wind Division Webinar

Posted Aug 22 2011 3:00am
Date: 9/1/2011

11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. PT; 12:30 - 2:00 p.m. MT, 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. CT; 2:30 - 4:00 p.m. ET
NREL and the American Solar Energy Society Small Wind Division (SWD) will co-host this webinar. Karin Sinclair, from NREL and SWD co-chair, will moderate. Shawn Shaw, The Cadmus Group, is the speaker. The webinar is free; no registration is required. Login information is below.

Mr. Shaw will discuss some of the challenges of estimating the energy output of small wind turbines. These systems, typically installed at the residential and light commercial scales, do not have the benefit of expensive meteorological studies to make accurate energy yield predictions. Instead, there are various computer models, rules of thumb, and assumptions made to calculate annual energy yield. However, these approaches are not always consistent with actual, measured, performance data. In addition to discussing these general challenges, tools, and techniques, Mr. Shaw will demonstrate the use of online tools, such as the Small Wind Energy Evaluation Tool (SWEET) to improve the accuracy of pre-installation performance predictions.

Dial-in Number: 888-995-9569

Passcode: 7825509

URL: https://www.mymeetings.com/nc/join.php?i=PW4096461&p=7825509&t=c

Karin Sinclair is a senior project leader at the National Wind Technology Center at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Shawn Shaw, senior associate with The Cadmus Group, has 10 years of experience working in the renewable energy field and has worked extensively with distributed wind energy projects and programs in the northeastern United States. In particular, Mr. Shaw has focused on performance monitoring, funding program design and evaluation, site assessment, and the development of tools and resources to help improve the accuracy of pre-installation energy yield predictions.

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches