Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

LMB prize-winners

Posted Jul 19 2011 8:14am

News like this always warms my heart.

The Royal Society has announced this year’s awards, and there are three from the Nobel Factory ( cite ).

Greg Winter receives the Royal Medal for interdisciplinary sciences (and perhaps also for surviving the LMB for nearly 40 years); Brad Amos has been invited to deliver the 2012 Leeuwenhoek Lecture in 2012 in recognition of his co-development of the laser scanning confocal microscope (some recognition is also due for his scripting the LMB’s Christmas plays and being a thoroughly decent chap); and Sarah Teichmann has been invited to deliver the Francis Crick Lecture in 2012, in recognition of her work in structural bioinformatics. Sarah is also one of our F1000 Members, in Bioinformatics .

Greg, Brad and Sarah are just three of an impressive list of the LMB’s Royal Society Award winners , which goes back to 1954 and the immortal Max Perutz.


Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches