Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Go
Search posts:

History of science blogs and Twitter accounts

Posted Jul 11 2011 2:12am

Last year Michael D. Barton published a list of blogs and twitter accounts that “focus on or dabble in the history of science, science and technology studies, etc.” that he was aware of. He’s just posted a link to it on his FB wall, so this must be the latest updated version.

Great work! But did he miss any? Seems like the list below doesn’t include much history of medical science (after all much of medicine is medical science), so hopefully someone with good link collecting instincts could make a similar list for HoMS.

Advances in the History of Psychology ( @AHPblog )
Adventures of a Post-Doc
Alfred Russel Wallace Correspondence Project
Alfred Russel Wallace News & Views ( @ARWallace )
AlunSalt
AmericanScience: A Team Blog ( @henrycowles , @danbouk )
Anita Guerrini
Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Centraal
Archy (& Mammoth Tales , @archymck )
Biomedicine on Display ( @museionist )
Boffins and Cold Warriors
BSHS Travel Guide ( @BSHSNews )
The Bubble Chamber: Where history and philosophy of science meet society and public policy ( @BblChamber )
Chris Renwick’s Blog ( @ChrisRenwick )
Collect and Connect: Nineteenth Century Natural History
Contagions ( @hefenfelth )
cryology and co.
Dan Cohen’s Digital Humanities Blog ( @dancohen )
Darwinaia
Darwin and Gender: The Blog ( @DarwinWomen )
Darwin and Human Nature: The Blog ( @DarwinHuman )
Decoding the Heavens
The Dispersal of Darwin ( @darwinsbulldog )
Echo
Einstein’s Apple (old)
entangled bank
Envirotech
Ether Wave Propaganda
Evolving Thoughts ( @john_s_wilkins )
False vacuum: a weblog by Aaron Sidney Wright (Notes on the History and Philosophy of Science) ( @aaronswright )
Floating in a web of inter-textuality
Foundations of Science Sydney
From the Hands of Quacks: The Official Weblog of Jaipreet Virdi ( @jaivirdi )
The Giant’s Shoulders (blog carnival)
Heterodoxology ( @easprem )
History of Economics Playground
History of geology ( @David_Bressan )
The History of Psychology
History of Science (from the Royal Society, see @NotesRecordsRS )
History of Science
History of Science ( @emmajacobs )
HistoryofScience.com Blog
History of Science in America
History of Science at Oregon State University
History of Science for the Science Classroom / Ron Gray – science educator ( @grayron )
The History of Vaccines Blog
h-madness
hpb etc. ( @Darwiniana )
HSS Graduate & Early Career Caucus
HSTM at the University of Minnesota (old)
The Inverse Square Blog ( @TomLevenson )
IT History Society Blog ( @ithistoryorg )
Jacob Darwin Hamblin  ( @jdhamblin )
Kele’s Science Blog ( @KeleCable )
Laelaps ( @laelaps )
The Lippard Blog ( @lippard )
Logan Lounge (old)
Longitude Project Blog ( @beckyfh )
media to explore hsci / med / tech @ ou
Meteorite Manuscripts ( @MetManuscripts )
The Missing Link (old)
Morbid Anatomy ( @morbidanatomy )
Mz Skeptica ( @MzSkeptica )
Neuron Culture ( @david_dobbs )
The Neuro Times  ( @TheNeuroTimes )
Non-Consensual Science
Not by Needs nor Nature ( @jessephiltz )
Occam’s Trowel (old)
OSQUALITUDE ( @JFDerry )
PACHSmörgåsbord ( @pachsnet , @dhayton )
The Pauling Blog
The Perfect Vacuum , Imaginary Magnitude ( @GustavHolmberg )
petri dish
The Primate Diaries (formerly  The Primate Diaries in Exile  and  TPD , @ericmjohnson )
Productive (Adj)
Oral Histories of Science (British Library)
OU History of Science Collections
Periodic Tabloid ( @chemheritage )
Projectories
Ptak Science Books ( @ptak )
Public Historian ( @publichistorian )
Quodlibeta
ragesoss ( @ragesoss )
Rationally Speaking
Reciprocal Space ( @Stephen_Curry )
Relevant History ( @askpang )
The Renaissance Mathematicus ( @rmathematicus )
In Retrospect
Roger Launius’s Blog
Science in Society
Science, Values, and Democracy
Scientia
Scientia Curiosa ( @history_geek )
Seiler on Science
SHOTnews.net
A Simple Prop ( @jmlynch )
Skulls in the Stars ( @drskyskull )
Somatosphere: Science, Medicine, and Anthropology ( @somatosphere )
Songs from the History of Science
Stories from the Stores
STS Observatory
Textbook History ( @textbooktweets )
think deviant – philosophy of science
Thoughts in a Haystack
through the looking glass ( @alicebell )
Time to Eat the Dogs ( @ExplorationBlog )
Transcribing Tyndall ( @JohnTyndallCP )
University of Toronto Science Instrument Collections ( @UTSIC )
Until Darwin: Science & the Origins of Race
UCSD Science Studies Program
Vintage Space ( @astVintageSpace )
VIRIDARIUM
A Voice of Reason
Walking History ( @wilkohardenberg )
Wellcome Library Blog ( @wellcomelibrary )
Whewell’s Ghost ( @beckyfh , @thonyc, @john_s_wilkins , @jmlynch )
Whipple Library Blog ( @hpslib )
William Eamon ( @williameamon )
Wonders & Marvels ( @history_geek )
The World’s Fair ( @dnghub )
Zoonomian ( @physicus )

And updated by commentators (added by me):

History of Geology Blog:
Cryology & co.:
Fossils and other living things: :

History of science on Twitter solely Ann, @transfermium
Dominic Berry, @Rusgerkins
Keynyn Brysse, @Paleo_Girl
Gary Butt, @gbutt
Joe Cain, @drjoecain
Lizzy Campbell, @LizzyCampbell
Margaret Cavendish, @ScientificLady
Natalia Cecire, @ncecire
Brendan Clarke, @philmedman
Nathaniel Comfort @nccomfort
Bill Cronon ( @wcronon )
Ralph Drayton, @rdrayton
Randi Hutter Epstein @rhutterepstein
Graham Farmelo, @grahamfarmelo
Mike Finn, @theselflessmeme
Kieron Flanagan, @kieronflanagan
Delia Gavrus, @DeliaElena
Gregory A. Good, @HistoryPhysics
Neil Gussman, @sgtguss
Piers Hale, @piershale
Deborah Harkness, @DebHarkness
Vanessa Heggie,  @HPS_Vanessa
Jan Helldén, @jhellden
Ian Hesketh, @ianhesketh
HPS Museum Leeds, @hpsmuseumleeds
HPS, University of Cambridge, @CambridgeHPS
Home of Darwin, @HomeofDarwin
Claire Jones,  @Claire_L_Jones
Finn Arne Jørgensen, @finnarne
Seong-Jun Kim, @SeongJun
David Kohn, @DARBASE
Oliver Lagueux, @olilag
Sienna Latham,  @clerestories
Linnean Society,  @LinneanSociety
Marri Lynn, @Marri
Pamela Mack, @pammack
Amy-Elizabeth Manlapas, @mrsmanlapas
Museum of the History of Science, @MHSOxford
Satoshi Nozawa, @st_nozawa
Rebecca Pohancenik, @rpohancenik
James Poskett, @jamesposkett
Rebecca Priestley, @RKPriestley
Isaac Record, @hoobiewan
Royal Institution, @rigb_science
Pedro Ruiz-Castell,  @P_RuizCastell
Science Museum Archives, @GalilieosBalls
Society for the Study of Astronomy, @SocHistAst
Society for the Study of Natural History, @SHNHSocNatHist
struthious, @struthious
STS, York Univ., @STS_YorkU
Andrew Stuhl, @andrewstuhl
Carsten Timmermann, @ctimmermann
Alexander Vka, @Alex_Vka
Jakob Whitfield, @thrustvector
Grant Yamashita,  @gyamashita

Links about HoS Blogging:

Gustav Holmberg, Blogging the history of science , Imaginary Magnitude (March 1, 2011)
Jai Virdi,  Conversing in a Cyberspace Community: The Growth of HPS Blogging , From the Hands of Quacks (October 6, 2010)
Jai Virdi,  Survey Says… and Survey Results , From the Hands of Quacks (Sept. 17, 2010)
Jai Virdi,  Navigating the History of Science Blogosphere , From the Hands of Quacks (August 30, 2010)
Jai Virdi,  On the Blogosphere: History of Science Blogs , From the Hands of Quacks (June 12, 2010)
Michael D. Barton,  History of Science Society 2009: “Your Daily History of Science,” The Dispersal of Darwin (Nov. 25, 2010)
Will Thomas,  “Blogging as Scholarship,” Ether Wave Propaganda (October 24, 2008)
Michael Robinson,  “A Blog of One’s Own,” Time to Eat the Dogs, (October 27, 2008)
Loïc Charles,  “Blogging for what? Blogging for whom?” History of Economics Playground (November 14, 2008)
Benjamin Cohen,  “Why Blog the History of Science?” Newsletter of the History of Science Society (October 2008)
Benjamin Cohen,  “Why Blog the History of Science?” The World’s Fair (October 14, 2008)
Benjamin Cohen,  “What difference does the history of science make?” The World’s Fair (August 4, 2008)
John Lynch,  “Blogging and history of science,” Stranger Fruit (August 4, 2008) [John now blogs at  A Simple Prop ]

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches