Health knowledge made personal

Complementary & Alternative Medicine Community

Overview Blog Posts Discussions People
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

Please Join Me for Seven Weeks of Chakra Balancing Work

Posted Mar 15 2009 4:31pm

As you probably know, I have been going through a rough and confusing time the last several months.  First, I was confused about what topics I wanted to blog and who I wanted to help by sharing my experiences of healing.  Second, my dog, Wyatt, became very ill and died quite suddenly.  This has all left me depleted, emotionally drained and at a loss for words that have any power to help anyone.

In an effort to recharge, I decided that I need to spend some time taking care of myself.  An excellent place to begin is with making sure that my chakras are all balanced.  Therefore, I am going to work on one chakra per week for the next seven weeks.  I will begin with the 1st or base chakra and work up to number 7.  I thought I might take you along for the ride and explain each week what each chakra does and give some balancing ideas.

Hopefully you will find this helpful in bringing yourself into a more balanced and centered place.  At the end of the 7 weeks I hope to have regained my energy and I will return to writing about healing from abuse.  But, really, this is part of the healing process.  Learning when you are out of balance and finding ways to come back into alignment, or center yourself, is excellent for your own healing.  It is so important to be empowered enough to find ways to care for yourself when you are not feeling quite right.

For those of you unfamiliar with chakras, let me explain a bit about what they are and their function.  The chakras are your spiritual energy centers.  This is more an eastern belief.  Here in the west, with our logical thinking, talk of these spiritual energy centers may sound a little strange.  My experience has been that they are very real and balancing and aligning chakras can help bring the whole body, mind and spirit into balance.

The word chakra is a sanskrit word meaning wheel or disk.  According to traditional Indian medicine, chakras are believed to exist in the surface of the etheric (non-physical) body.  The Chakras are said to be “force centers” of energy.  These spinning wheels or disks are considered the focal points for the reception and transmission of energies.  There are seven major chakras or energy centers (also understood as wheels of light) each having a different function.

According to Sonia Choquette, in her book “True Balance”, the chakras have the following functions.  (I will explain each in more depth in the following weeks).

Chakra One - Foundation (Personal Power and Well Being)

Chakra Two - Vitality (Emotional and Sensual Well Being)

Chakra Three - Sovereignty (Domain of Your Inner Child)

Chakra Four - Heart (Domain of Human Intimacy)

Chakra Five - Expression (Personal Expression and Messenger of Your Spirit)

Chakra Six - Personal Vision (Ability to Think, Analyze, Dream, Imagine and Visualize)

Chakra Seven - Your Crowning Glory (Center of Your Highest Spiritual Consciousness)

This is just a very brief overview.  The chakras and what they do are much more complex than this and it is fascinating to study them and how they affect us when they are either balanced or not.  Even if chakras are not “your thing” the information that I will be sharing each week to bring them into balance will include practical ways of soothing and taking care of yourself so that you can feel re-energized and more grounded and centered.

I hope that you will join me in this seven week series of blog posts and share your experiences and thoughts in the comments section.  If you prefer, you can use the contact form to send me a more private message.   I am by no means an expert on chakras so I welcome any input, ideas, advice or healing/balancing tips that you might have to share.

Namaste (the light within me honors the light within you).

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches