Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Go
Search posts:

We All Scream for Ice Cream

Posted Nov 06 2008 11:39pm

Remember when you were a kid and the ice cream truck rolled down your street? It rang bells or played music. Just the sound made your mouth water.  According to the USDA, the average American eats 21.5 quarts per person yearly. 

Can Celiacs join in this traditional summertime fun? Of course! Ice creams are not generally labeled gluten free but most are.  According to the International Ice Cream Association, the most poplular flavor is plain vanilla and it is gluten free. 

Unless an ice cream has additives, such as cookies and cream or chocolate crumbles, it is most likely safe for celiacs.   Chocolate ice cream occasionally has malt flavoring. So always check the label.  Those strange sounding names like “guar gum, alginate ” etc that are often listed as ingredients are safe for celiacs.  They are used to prevent crystalization in the ice cream during storage and are extracts of plants.  There are rare exceptions where the gum is mixed with wheat but that would clearly we listed on the label with the Food Allergy Labeling Consumer Protection Act guidelines.

If you are tired of plain vanilla, just crumble some gluten free cookies and make your own additions. What about an ice cream sandwich made with vanilla ice cream layered between 2 gluten free  cookies?  Or the ultimate decadence - a gluten free brownie topped with vanilla ice cream? Foodtek Inc makes a microwavable brownie that can be made on the spur of the moment. Yummmmm!

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches