Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Search posts:

National Cancer Institute-Designated Cancer Centers

Posted Feb 27 2011 10:37pm
National Cancer Institute-Designated Cancer Centers

NCI-Designated Cancer Centers

National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated Cancer Centers are recognized for their scientific excellence. They are a major source of discovery and development of more effective approaches to cancer prevention, diagnosis, and treatment. They also deliver medical advances to patients and their families, educate health care professionals and the public, and reach out to underserved populations. An NCI-designated Cancer Center may be a freestanding organization, a center within an academic institution, or part of a consortium of institutions. NCI-designated Cancer Centers may be found by searching this database .

NCI designation is voluntary and is awarded via a grant using a peer-review process. All NCI-designated Cancer Centers receive substantial financial support from NCI grants and are re-evaluated each time their support grant comes up for renewal (generally every 3 to 5 years). NCI recognizes two types of centers—Cancer Centers and Comprehensive Cancer Centers—based on the type of grant received. There is no difference in the quality of patient care provided by Cancer Centers and Comprehensive Cancer Centers. There are a total of 66 NCI-designated Cancer Centers; 59 of the centers provide care to patients. Seven Cancer Centers conduct only laboratory research and do not provide patient care.

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches