Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Go
Search posts:

Coming October 14: Coping with Prostate Cancer through Faith and Prayer

Posted Oct 06 2010 12:00am

Please join me on October 14 for a free group support session, Coping with Prostate Cancer through Faith and Prayer: Religious, Social and Scientific Issues.

This free teleseminar will explore how faith and prayer can help prostate cancer patients, survivors and their spouses. We will focus on the ways patients and their families use their faith to absorb cancer diagnoses, prepare for treatment, and confront treatment side effects like ED, incontinence and stress. We will also explore scientific critiques about the validity of faith as a healing mechanism.

The call will be on Thursday, October 14, 2010, at 9:00 p.m. Eastern time (8:00 p.m. Central, 7:00 p.m. Mountain, 6:00 p.m. Pacific time). Don't worry if you aren't available at that time - you will receive a link to the recorded version of the session afterward, along with links to previous support calls.

In this 45-minute free presentation you'll learn:

• 4 types of faith that buoy up prostate cancer patients and survivors

• Various purposes for praying in reference to illness

• The curative value of communal prayer for those who are ill

• Benefits of meditation for reducing stress

• How attending religious services can help prevent disease

• How lifestyle variables diminish claims that faith heals

• What to do when faith is not enough

• How science corroborates or invalidates the healing power of intercessory prayer

• Why highly educated professionals can maintain their faith even when cancer strikes

• How doctors’ affirmations can help during surgery

• The connection between faith and hope

To receive the call-in instructions for this free session, just enter your name and email address below. If there's a question that you would like to have answered on the call, please enter it in the space below.


Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches