Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Go
Search posts:

Hidden Gluten Sources

Posted Jul 28 2009 12:30am

Here is the hidden gluten list, borrowed from TACA. I use it all the time.
Abyssinian hard (wheat triticum duran)
Alcohol (spirits – specific types, unless distilled)
Avena
Baking powder (verify ingredients)
Baking soda (verify ingredients)
Barley
Barley flour
Barley hordeum vulgare
Barley malt
Beer
Bleached all-purpose flour
Bouillon cubes or powder
Bran
Bread flour
Broth, prepackaged
Brown flour
Bulgur (bulgur wheat/nuts)
Caramel color
Cereal binding
Cereal extract
Chilton
Chorizo (read label)
Coffee creamer substitute (grain based)
Couscous
Cracker meal
Croutons
Dextrin
Durum, durum flour
Edible starch
Einkorn wheat
Enriched flour
Farina
Filler
Fu (dried wheat gluten )
Galactose
Germ
Glutamate (free)
Glutamic acid
Gluten flour
Graham flour
Granary flour
Gravy cubes
Gravy mixes (unless homemade with cornstarch)
Ground spices (some contain gluten)
Gum base
Hard triticum
Hard wheat
Herbs with wheat fillers
High gluten flour
High protein flour
Hordeum
Hydrolyzed oat starch
Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein HVP
Job’s Tears (aka pearl barley)
Kamut (pasta wheat)
Malt
Malt extract
Malt flavoring
Malt syrup
Malt vinegar
Miso
Modified food starch (source is either corn or wheat)
MSG (made outside USA)
Mustard powder (some contain gluten)
Oat flour
Oats (Oats themselves do not contain gluten, but are almost always processed with gluten)
Pasta
Pearl barley
Potassium caseinate
Rice malt (contains barley or Koji)
Rice syrup (unless specified GF, it contains barley enzymes)
Rye
Rye semolina
Sauce mixes (read labels carefully, often contain wheat)
Seitan
Semolina
Semolina triticum
Shoyu (soy sauce)
Small spelt
Soba noodles
Sodium caseinate (contains MSG)
Soy sauce (unless specified GF)
Spelt
Spelt triticum spelta
Spices with wheat fillers
Spirits (specific types, distilled is GF)
Starch (outside USA)
Stativa
Stock cubes (many contain gluten)
Strong flour
Suet in packets
Sulfites
Teriyaki sauce
Tritical
Triticale X triticosecale
Triticum
Udon (wheat noodles)
Vegetable starch
Vital gluten
Vitamins (some contain gluten)
Vulgar
Wheat bran
Wheat durum triticum
Wheat flour
Wheat germ
Wheat gluten
Wheat malt
Wheat nuts
Wheat oats
Wheat pasta
Wheat starch
Wheat triticum aestivum
Wheat triticum mononoccum
Wheat
White flour
Whole-Meal flour

The following labeled ingredients may indicate the presence of wheat protein:

•Gelatinized starch
•Natural flavoring
•Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
•Modified food starch
•Modified starch – check with company
•White grain vinegar
•White vinegar
•Vinegar

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches