Health knowledge made personal
Join this community!
› Share page:
Go
Search posts:

Daisy Brand Sour Cream

Posted Jan 25 2009 4:55pm

My last blog, Nuts in the countertop, was disconcerting. Finding nuts in such a random place often makes me begin to question the safety of the products in my home. Although I have not gone HYSTERICAL (thank you again “Dr.” Christakis) I did call some food manufacturers yesterday to check ingredients. 

Sour cream was the first item on my call list. I hadn’t previously called Daisy Brand Sour Cream. The company website (which I like to check prior to calling) has but one small statement in the FAQ page about food allergies - gluten;

 

Yes, Daisy Sour Cream is gluten-free. Our Daisy Brand Regular and Daisy Brand Light Sour Cream products contain no starch. We use cornstarch, not a wheat starch, in our Daisy No Fat Sour Cream.”

 

However, they do not have any information on nuts. When I called and inquired, “Do you have any nuts in any of your manufacturing facilities or products?” I was told that they are completely nut free. 

 

What I did find disheartening was that the nonfat sour cream ingredient label reads as follows;

 

IngredientsCultured Nonfat Milk, Modified Food Starch, Carrageenan, 

Vitamin A Palmitate

 

Why don’t they state, as they do in the gluten FAQ, that cornstarch is the modified food starch they are using? Corn allergies are increasing and I’ve read that allergic reactions to corn can be anaphylactic. 

 

I have my fingers crossed that the FDA will be inspired by all our letters and help (or in some cases - make) food manufacturers label accurately! 

 

© peanutallergywebsite.com

 

Post a comment
Write a comment:

Related Searches